Quick & Easy Bread Pudding

I had a few old slices of bread sitting in my kitchen and I was about to throw them out when I remembered how my Mum use to make delicious bread pudding with old stale bread, a dessert my Dad really enjoyed. So I thought I would try it out. But I wanted to include my own twist, and as I had a bag of dried cranberries which were incorrectly delivered to me in my online shop (I ordered jelly babies and cranberries came instead, not sure how you mixed them up…) I decided to use them too. So I went onto the internet and searched for lots of different recipes. What I was looking for was a quick and simple recipe but I was not willing to jeopardise flavour either. It was not easy. However I came across a recipe that used store-bought custard instead of making it yourself. So I collected all the best bits from all the different recipes and created my own. I bought the custard and watered it down with a little skim milk. I poured it over my cut triangles and then sprinkled sugar on the top, before baking it in the oven for 25 minutes. The result was quiet tasty for a quick mid-week dessert. I was rather impressed. I love the idea of being able to still use something once its no longer fresh, for some other purpose. Bread becomes bread pudding, black bananas make great banana bread and other fruit which no longer looks pretty can be blended up in a smoothie. Unfortunately this is not true, or safe, with every food. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Fruit and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment